Variable Omicron of Concern (VOC) – data as of December 14, 2021 (12:00)

Confirmed cases have been reported by 25 EU/EEA countries: Austria (17), Belgium (73), Croatia (3), Cyprus (3), Czech (9), Denmark (268), Estonia (26 ), Finland (20) ), France (130), Germany (101), Greece (5), Hungary (2), Iceland (20), Ireland (18), Italy (27), Latvia (5), Liechtenstein ( 1), Luxembourg (1), the Netherlands (62), Norway (1761), Portugal (49), Romania (8), Slovakia (3), Spain (49) and Sweden (51), according to information from public sources. Two new countries (Luxembourg and Hungary) have reported cases since yesterday and several countries have reported a number of possible cases.

Although initially reported cases were related to travel, an increasing number of cases have now been reported acquired within the EU/EEA, including as part of clusters and outbreaks, with cases also being detected in representative surveillance systems .

Preliminary analysis of primary Omicron VOC cases reported to TESSy shows that imported or travel-related cases account for 22 (13%) cases, while 121 (70%) of cases reported to TESSy were acquired locally. , including 78 (45%) cases sampled as part of local investigations into the outbreak.

EU/EEA countries that have reported cases unrelated to epidemiological travel include Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Spain, Sweden and Iceland. This indicates that undetected community transmission could be ongoing in the EU/EEA.

All cases in the EU/EEA for which information on severity is available were either asymptomatic or mild. To date, no Omicron-related deaths have been reported in the EU/EEA. These data should be evaluated with caution, as the number of confirmed cases is too low to understand whether the clinical spectrum of Omicron’s disease differs from previously detected variants.

Countries and territories outside the EU/EEA have reported 6,699 confirmed cases. The 50 countries that have reported confirmed cases are: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bermuda (UK), Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Cuba, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar (UK), India, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States USA, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

On December 13, 2021, the UK’s Health Security Agency reported one death linked to Omicron. This person was diagnosed at the hospital.

Overall, there have been 8,826 confirmed cases globally, reported by 75 countries.

A summary of available studies on the antibody capacity of convalescent or post-vaccination serum against Omicron VOC is available in the Epidemiological Update as of December 10, 2021.

The results of a vaccine efficacy study conducted in the United Kingdom have been published as a preprint (not yet reviewed). The study shows a reduced efficacy of the vaccine against Omicron VOC infection compared to Delta VOC infection in individuals who received two doses of the vaccine. However, the efficacy of the vaccine against Omicron infection was similar to that against delta infection in individuals who received an additional dose. The study did not assess the effectiveness of the vaccine against severe outcomes.

Table 1. Confirmed Omicron VOC cases of SARS-CoV-2 reported by public sources, as of December 14, 2021 (12:00)

Source link

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.
Andrew Naughtie

News reporter and author at @websalespromo